top of page

School Advisory Council

School Advisory Councils enable a spirit of partnership to be developed within the school community. They are constituted in a way that allows the various bodies within the school to be represented and to participate in the development of the school and its management. Meetings are times when the Catholic education community meet and work together for the holistic development of students, taking into consideration both educational and spiritual welfare. Through partnership, and by the coming together of various people with a range of gifts and talents, the school will become a stronger community and be more effective in its religious dimension, individual identity and educational charter.

The School Advisory Council provides the occasion for the community to consider the needs and wellbeing of their school through:


  • discernment and a spirit of cooperation to arrive at decisions;

  • mutual respect and trust to achieve the common good; and

  • members cooperating, valuing others, listening to the community, having a clear sense of the purpose of Catholic schools and a commitment to building the kingdom of God.


The Board shall carry out the following functions in pursuit of its objectives:

  1. planning for the present and future operation of the school;

  2. providing membership on selection panels for the employment of staff to the school in accordance with CECWA policy;

  3. providing membership on the panel which recommends the appointment of a Principal in accordance with CECWA policy;

  4. disseminating information about the school and about Catholic education to persons and organisations in the local Catholic community;

  5. liasing in all matters relating to the financial management of the school with persons and organisations in the local Catholic community;

  6. managing all the finances associated with the School; and

  7. advising the Principal with respect to School policy.

The functions of the School Advisory Council may be varied following appropriate consultation and the approval of the Director.

School Advisory Council Executive

Chairperson - Tony Summers

Treasurer - Craig Grantham

Vice Chair - Janelle Prunster

Secretary - Laura Hampson

Parish Priest - Father Darek

Ex-Officio - Jason Baker (Principal)

P & F Representative - Stephenie Kunder

Board Member - Jevita Nilson

Board Member - Jacinta Lynton

*Meetings are held once per term at 6pm in the Meeting Room with the Annual Community Meeting held in late November.

bottom of page